Bride wants me to preserve her bouquet?

Studio3

Oct 10, 2011
Seattle
State / Prov
Wa
I had a wedding yesterday and the bride was gushing over bouquet (always a nice ego boost). After the wedding she found me at clean up and begged me to preserve it for her. I explained that I don't do that and there are plenty of companies online she could send it to. She said she wanted ME to try my best in preservation. I explained again that while I know HOW - I've never done it before. Her mom came up and said she'd pay me whatever it would cost - just do it. The bride said she wanted me to do my best and didn't mind if it didn't work out. Maybe it was sleep deprivation, but I agreed and said I'd send an invoice.

Called her today to get some details about what she wants done - and to make sure her mom knew how much it would cost. It's a 12 inch David Austin and French garden rose bouquet with astilbe, ranunculus and stock. The clock is ticking on those roses. All of them are fully blown. She hasn't gotten back to me, neither has her mom or her bridesmaid I called. I don't want to get started without details and put them in a position to pay double what they paid for the bouquet in an impulse buy. And I want to be sure I'm actually going to be paid for the work before I start.

A few questions:

Would you touch this with a 10 foot pole?
I was going to use silica - does someone have a different method? Anyone know how garden roses hold up? Should I wire or hand tie the dried stems?
How much would you charge for this? I was thinking of COGs w/2x markup + labor. It seems like disassembling it, drying it, and putting it back together is going to be insanely expensive. Would you ask for a deposit?

I LOVE working with fresh flowers that look great, eventually wilt, and get tossed. done deal. finito. move on. NEXT! Mummification is a totally different animal.

Please help. The Austins are browning as we speak. or....er...as you read....