Our design table has lost it's mojo

bootcampguy

Jul 14, 2010
Ormond Beach
www.afloralboutique.com
State / Prov
Florida
The month of June opened my eyes to some new things in the world of design. I've never had to focus on it until recently. Our head designer for 23 years retired 2 years ago, so the table was on auto-pilot with a couple of "bouquet makers". Our store is high volume, so when she retired I added another p/t designer to the staff. Both of the girls and the new hire are (self taught designers) and did what I thought was a good job, but it was only at the level they we're capable of. My wife, who is very talented, is also a self taught designer, but she creates with a level of passion for every arrangement she does.

In June, a series of events occurred that left both of us with the decision to lay off our "entire" design staff. At first, I balked, we are to busy to do that, but she insisted, we had lost our "mojo". Even she didn't feel comfortable with the level needed to take on some of the jobs that were ahead of us. We lost a 10K - 15K wedding because of not being able to offer the bride the level of creativity she wanted. I had seen it, watch it done, but no way to do it. I don't mind losing work to price, because profit is not dirty word, but not for this. Creativity won this round. So, I knew change would have to come.

In the next decade flowers shops will need to do three things to maintain profitability:

1) Creativity and the quality of flowers must merge together and stand out ahead of the OG and show people our value versus the on-line people. We must "bring it".............

2) We must bring the "authenticity" back to the level it was and began or continue to develop that personal relationship with each customer, while remembering we are selling emotions, feeling and expressions. We must "bring it"............