Sad state of 'Help Wanted'

I KNOW I hear that all the time "oh I hate the wire, oh I hate that it will never sell in my shop". You don't have to make it huge like up on the stage, instead break it down into usable items you can sell. So they show 30 roses, why not try it with a dozen? It drives me CRAZY. I know I am new to the industry but I sure hope it doesn't happen to me someday. I have had brides tell me that the stuff we show they can't get anyone else to do?!?!?! Really!?!?!?! Why would a florist turn down a wedding because they don't like the way feathers look in a bouquet?!?!

Sorry I'm ranting today... probably because the only thing people want to do today is carns and daisies in a C954 (jeni) vase! I have some pretty unique stuff in the cooler but oh now it's "lets be old fashion day". Sigh.... back to work, it's been busy and that's a good thing!

Reactions: KABERS
And there it is right there.

Florists are not taking the education opportunities, often completely free except their time, to learn how to keep up.

I have also been to shows where the grumbling around me is almost too much for me to keep my mouth shut. I go to these shows to learn new trends, tips, and ideas. Listening to so many florists grumble and speak up about how they don't like this or that about the new way of doing things, I can't help but thinking that this is one of the really big problems in our industry.

Why even attend if they don't intend to use that information?

the VERY REASON we stopped taking staff!!

And there it is right there.

Florists are not taking the education opportunities, often completely free except their time, to learn how to keep up.