Ever heard of "tissuing"

Status
Not open for further replies.

shannonlovesflowers

Oct 16, 2007
Albuquerque
State / Prov
New Mexico
So I was teaching my 2 new designers that I inherited how to make corsages quickly, other wise it would have taken them an hour to do a 2 rose corsage.

Then they ask me "Do you do the "tissuing"

"What are you talking about?" I say

"You know, where you get a wet piece of tissue and put it on the stem of the flower before you wrap it with tape."

With amazement, I replied "NO you don't need to do that. just spray the finished corsage with clear crown really well and it will hold up just fine"

One of the girls tells me "But you HAVE to tissue!!!" And she really meant it. She's been working at the store Amy just bought that was combined with ours for less than a year, I'm a 25+ year vet....

BUT....
I don't know everything, so I think about it for a minute and ponder.....

In all my travels, all the design shows, all the workshops, all the classes, I have never heard of such a thing, never.

So I thought about it a little more and I decide to tell her this...
"putting a tiny bit of wet tissue on the stem of a flower is the equivalent of putting a wet washcloth on your head and thinking you will stay hydrated."

"oh" she says.

Hope I wasn't off the mark!

So, is this something any of you do, and seriously if you do...Why?

BTW, if I am wrong, I will admit it to them..

BTW2, I can't find my AIFD book to look it up.

Good grief... I went to Flowers Canada and excelled in corsage making. Never heard of such a thing! What a waste of time.

V

Does anyone use the corsage stems, kind of like the stepanotis stems? One gal swore by them, we tried them and the rose died much quicker. I have heard of people using a cotton ball with certain flowers like orchid corsages and that was recently. I was trained by someone that had been a florist for eons and they never did that.

Trish

Shannon,