Status
Not open for further replies.

kt4ye

Oct 15, 2007
Charlotte
www.flowerhut.com
State / Prov
NC
Yesterday, an older customer (my age) came in to ask about a product that she said she used to buy about 20 years ago. As she described it, the product was somewhat like a snow globe.

The bottom either screwed or snapped off. The bottom had something like a FROG on to which a florist (or consumer) could stick a rose head. The globe was filled with water (plain?), the bottom attached and the whole thing was inverted onto a table.

The result was like a snow globe with a rose in it. The Lady said that a rose inside would last for weeks if not months.

I've never seen such a thing. But I'm a newbie -- started in '88.

Is anyone familiar with this and/or knows where to buy them?

Bill

I do not know where to buy them, but I think we have one in a closet here somewhere. Your snow globe concept is correct. Kind of 70's though. I'll look for mine and maybe we can send it to you. :)

Oy - thank you - that was gonna drive me crazy! I couldn't get their site to come up, though Perry remembered the name and company info. I remember my mom having one of these on her coffee table, in the living room us kids weren't allowed into.

I still see these at Flea Markets, and Flower Shows, with the same folks who sell that colored jelly for plants/flowers.

tracy

I remember those. We sold them at the shop I worked at in the late 70's and yes the roses lasted forever, but you really had to seal them tight

I remember something like that called Bowl O'Beauty but they were sealed. Big sellers in the 70's.

A customer brought one in for us to 'fix' last year. :wide: The rose had turned black. We opened it up and the contents smelled like a combination of compost and kerosene.

She decided to just save the glass and base.

Oh, the kind of living room that has plastic on the couches and the vacuum marks in the carpet cause no one ever walks on it? LOL